Mazda World Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1988, Mazda B2200 SE-5
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This seems to be a common issue. Just bought this 1988 at auction and it has 51K miles. Truck would start, but shut off. Replaced air filter, plugs, and added fresh gas. Now it stays running, and while the engine is running better, it is still very, very rough. When given throttle, it stalls and sometimes mildly backfires.

I am new to Mazda trucks. This thing is in great shape and would love to get it running. But i have no idea on what this could be. Any ideas?

·
Registered
139 Posts
First, look over all of the vacuum hoses in and around the carburetor, to make sure none are cracked or broken, or have popped off of their vacuum port......these engines have a BUNCH of vacuum lines, and they all need to be connected and working for the stock carburetor.

The second thing I would do, is remove the EGR valve and clean the carbon out of it just to make sure that is not the problem. If the valve is being held open slightly, it can cause a rough running issue.

If you can do so, post some good pictures of the engine from different angles, and that may help us to see if anything else has been messed with by a previous owner.

Welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
226 Posts
First, look over all of the vacuum hoses in and around the carburetor, to make sure none are cracked or broken, or have popped off of their vacuum port......these engines have a BUNCH of vacuum lines, and they all need to be connected and working for the stock carburetor.

The second thing I would do, is remove the EGR valve and clean the carbon out of it just to make sure that is not the problem. If the valve is being held open slightly, it can cause a rough running issue.
Agree with above. If stock carburetor - more complicated than the space shuttle - and you don't have emissions requirements there - consider upgrading to a genuine Redline Weber 32/36 DGEV kit.

·
Registered
139 Posts