Mazda World Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i'm a newbie. i have a 98 mil. recently had brakes job done. However, my brakes are squeaking out of control. Even when i'm not pressing the brake a sqeaking sound can be heard from front dr. side. any ideas? Thanks a mill :)

·
Registered
1,614 Posts
Where did you have them done? Generally as a note, it takes about 1000 miles to wear in brake pads properly so they don't squeak, though some brake pads squeak regardless. I have the same problem, because of the type of pads I got.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i got them done at a local shop. i understand even the more expensive ones squeaks on the mill. Is that true?

·
Registered
365 Posts
I have slotted and cross drilled rotors that i picked up for bout 125 dollars on the front...with carbon Fiber semi-metallic brake pads....they never sqeaked and they stop bout 10 times faster than the stock ones....for bout 200 dollars you can get a brand new front brake setup....Just thought i would let u know!

Brian

·
Registered
365 Posts

·
Registered
428 Posts
I got the squeaking noise from my rear right wheel. It gets pretty annoying. I might have a warped rotor, but not sure. Owell. Guess I'll pick up new rotors and pads. :)

·
Registered
59 Posts
Check your brake fluid, it could have gotten low before you got your brakes done and now it could be low. That happened to me before and the squeek went right away after adding more fluid.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Originally posted by MazdaSPEED11@Oct 2 2002, 09:29 AM
Try Disc Brake Quiet.  It'll keep the pads from sqeaking.
MazdaSPEED11 got it nailed. You need to put that gooey stuff between pads and shims and calipers. That stops the pad vibration during braking Therefore eliminating the squeel. I did my own brakes recently, used the goo, and there is no sound from the pads.

Last edited by Giedrius at Oct 22 2002, 10:04 AM

·
Registered
49 Posts